McCalls 5578 (OOP)

I finished McCalls 5578 dress last week and got around to taking some pictures to share. I’m not as crazy about it as I thought I would be. It’s a cute and easy project and when I saw Sew Tessuti’s version on Burdastyle I thought I would really love it. It’s supposed to look like this:

M5578And mine looks like this ( I eliminated the color blocking, the facings and used bias tape made from the same fabric instead):

IMG_1237

IMG_1241

IMG_1243

I tried it on and It’s not a very flattering look for me as my natural waist is significantly smaller than my bust and hip measurement and I have a long torso (It’s fitting a little tighter on my dressform because I lost a little bit of weight and didn’t adjust it on my dressform). It looks much better with a belt, maybe I’ll make a black Obi belt with it.  I do love the fabric – a light and airy voile. My husband suggested, it would make for great beachwear, so beachwear it is. It wasn’t a totally useless project because I finally got a chance to use my one step buttonhole on my machine and I am impressed!

I’m in a quilty sort of mood lately, finally picked up my Craftsy BOM 2012 quilt and started working on it last week. Let’s see how it goes.

12 thoughts on “McCalls 5578 (OOP)

  1. I think it’s very pretty! Too bad it doesn’t look as good on you. That’s part of sewing. I have sewn a few things where in my mind, they were so flattering, but when I put them on, they fit, but just did not look right with my body type. But, yes, beach coverup or if you are feeling generous and have a relative with a different body type, gift it!

Leave a comment